Catholics in Pakistan


The Diocese of Faisalabad (then known as Lyallpur) was created on 13th April 1960 when it was separated from the Diocese of Multan. The new Diocese comprised the civil districts of Faisalabad (Lyallpur), Sahiwal (Montgomery), and Jhang. The See of the new Diocese was the city of Faisalabad.

Most Rev. Francis Benedict Cialeo O.P., Bishop of Multan, was transferred to Faisalabad (Lyallpur) and installed as the first bishop of the new Diocese on 31st May 1960. In March 1973, Fr. Paul Andreotti, O.P., was nominated Auxiliary Bishop of Faisalabad. On 8th September 1976, Bishop Benedict Cialeo O.P. retired as Bishop of Faisalabad, and Auxiliary Bishop Paul Andreotti, O.P., was appointed the second Bishop of Faisalabad.

On 24th October 1980, Fr. John Joseph was nominated auxiliary Bishop of Faisalabad and consecrated on 9th January 1981. He succeeded to the See as the third Bishop of Faisalabad on 25th January 1984 on the retirement of Bishop Paul Andreotti O.P.

After the death of Bishop John Joseph on 6th May 1998, the See was entrusted to Most Rev. Joseph Coutts, until then Bishop of Hyderabad (Sindh). He was installed as the fourth Bishop of Faisalabad on 25th September 1998 and served the Diocese till 17th March 2012. The Most Rev. Bishop Rufin Anthony served as Apostolic Administrator from 2012 to October 2013.

Most Rev. Bishop Joseph Arshad was nominated Bishop of Faisalabad on 3rd July 2013. He was consecrated Bishop on 1st November 2013 and on the same day, he took canonical possession of the Diocese. He served the Diocese from 1st November 2013 till 7th December 2017. After he was nominated as Archbishop and Bishop of Islamabad-Rawalpindi on the 8th of December 2017, he was appointed as Apostolic Administrator of Faisalabad Diocese.

Most Rev. Bishop Indrias Rehmat was nominated on 29th June 2019 and consecrated on 13th September 2019. He took canonical possession of the Diocese on 16th September 2019.

The boundary of the Diocese of Faisalabad now comprises the following seven civil districts: Faisalabad, Jhang, Toba Tek Singh, Sahiwal, Okara, Pak Pattan, and Chiniot.



Area (Sq. K.M) 35,300
Population 40,366,260
Catholics 190,008
Diocesan Priests 41
Religious Priests 15
Religious Brothers 10
Professed Religious Sisters 84
Parishes 25
Educational Institutions 53

(For any change kindly Whatsapp: 0345 6605081 or email:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email