Catholics in Pakistan


In 1936 some adjacent districts of Multan and the State of Bahawalpur were separated from Labore to form the Apostolic Prefecture of Multan. In 1939 the Diocese of Multan was established. Benedict Caleo OP was installed as the first (1st) Bishop of Multan. In 1960 the Diocese was further divided and Bishop Cialeo OP was transferred to Faisalabad as the first (1st) Bishop of the newly erected Diocese of Faisalabad. Bishop Los Scheerer OP was appointed the second (2nd) Bishop of the Diocese of M In 1966 Bishop Louis Scheerer OP passed away and Bertrand Boland OP was ordained as the third (3rd) Bishop of Multan. In 1984, Bishop Boland OP retired and handed over the diocese to his Auxiliary Bishop Patras Yousaf, who became the fourth (4th) Bishop of Multan Bishop Patras Yousaf served as Bishop of Multan until he passed away on 29th December 1998.

On January 10, 2000, Pope John Paul II announced Fr. Andrew Francis as the fifth (5th) Bishop of Multan. Bishop Andrew Francis continued to serve the diocese until the 13th of June, 2014, when his resignation was accepted by Pope Francis.

Following the resignation of Bishop Andrew Francis, Fr. Benny Mario Travas was appointed as the Apostolic Administrator for the Diocese of Multan. On 29th of May. 2015, Pope Francis announced Rev Benny Travas as the sixth (6th) Bishop of Multan His Episcopal Ordination took place on the 15th of August 2015.

The Catholic Diocese of Multan is located in Southern Punjab, almost in the central part of Pakistan, and covers a total area of 150,705 sq km. The Total Population of the diocese is about 8.8 million; out of which Christians are about 202,300. Besides, there are some Hindus and different tribes. There are two big deserts ie. Cholistan and Thal in the Diocese of Multan.

The Catholic Diocese of Multan comprises the following civil boundaries, the whole of Multan Division with the districts of Multan, Vehari, and Khanewal. In the Bahawalpur Division, the Districts of Bahawalpur, Bahawalnagar, Lodhran, and Rahim Yar Khan In the Dera Ghazi Khan Division, the Districts of Dera Ghazi Khan, Muzaffargarh, Layyah, and Rajanpur.



Area (Sq. K.M) 150,705
Population 8,800,000
Catholics 80,000
Diocesan Priests 16
Religious Priests 14
Religious Brothers 06
Professed Religious Sisters 43
Parishes 15
Educational Institutions 44

(For any change kindly Whatsapp: 0345 6605081 or email:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email